Renntech ELM Settings - Mercedes-Benz Forum : AMG Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-19-2007, 05:10 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Broken in!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to SagaSupra
(Thread Starter)
Renntech ELM Settings

I could be dumb, but i'm sure im not alone. The Renntech ELM manual to the best of my knowledge doesnt describe which setting the ELM should be calibrated to. So i contacted Renntech today and Bob from Renntech quickly responded with confirmation as to which setting should be used for which kind of suspension. So I'm going to post this up here since this ELM is one of the most popular ones on the market today. These are just the settings for the larger black dial. The gray dials are self explanatory.

Cars with ABC/Airmatic = Setting 2
Cars with without ABC = Setting 1
Off position = Setting 0


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

99 Acura Integra GSR
SagaSupra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-19-2007, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
p0st wh0r3
 
jangy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jangy Send a message via Yahoo to jangy
You aren't alone at all. the installation and use manual is all screwed up and I'm actually miffed that RT doesn't bother to correct it.

I get your 0 setting, but I'm confused what the difference is between 1 and 2? From your write-up, it looks like Airmatic and or ABC would be 2 and non-ABCs would be 1?

That confuses me on W211s (Airmatic). We aren't ABC, so that would lead me to 1 (which is what I use). We are Airmatic/ABC, so that would lead me to 2. Does that basically mean the unit will work on Airmatics in either 1 or 2? I've never tried 2, so I don't know how mine will act.

Hope you got yours figured out. Let's see some pics of the drop!!

SD Crew #1

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jangy is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-19-2007, 05:29 PM
Super Moderator
Shoot Me Already!
 
SDSilverM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to SDSilverM3
Mike's car worked with either 1 or 2. Didn't notice a obvious difference unless there is a technical difference internally. We'll take Renntech's word for it though. Would help if RT would correct their manuals because their wiring diagram was incorrect (not the first time I've heard of this either).

Stickied this thread because I could't find anything on the other forums regarding this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'05 Mercedes-Benz C55 AMG
Car: Alabaster White | Black Leather w/Birdseye Maple Trim | Lighting Package | NAV | Steel Carter Plate (Option 481)
Mods: KW V2 Coilovers | 19x8.5F/19x9.5R BBS LM | Toyo T1R Tires (235/35/19F 265/30/19R) | Euroteck Carbon Fiber Front Lip | Painted Sidemarkers | OEM Flat Hood Emblem | Fuel Content Mod | Netherlands Setting Mod


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SDSilverM3 is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-19-2007, 06:01 PM
Moderator
I Suck at Life
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 24,777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
How about some pics?
iwrock is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-19-2007, 06:11 PM
Senior Member
p0st wh0r3
 
jangy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jangy Send a message via Yahoo to jangy
While we are on the subject of wiring, it is true that RennTech's color scheme is off, but the pin numbering is right. Any installer should be sure to check the pin number and all will be well.

SD Crew #1

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jangy is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-19-2007, 06:17 PM
Super Moderator
Shoot Me Already!
 
SDSilverM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to SDSilverM3
The installer has to be aware of the problem otherwise most people will go by colors. I know I would.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'05 Mercedes-Benz C55 AMG
Car: Alabaster White | Black Leather w/Birdseye Maple Trim | Lighting Package | NAV | Steel Carter Plate (Option 481)
Mods: KW V2 Coilovers | 19x8.5F/19x9.5R BBS LM | Toyo T1R Tires (235/35/19F 265/30/19R) | Euroteck Carbon Fiber Front Lip | Painted Sidemarkers | OEM Flat Hood Emblem | Fuel Content Mod | Netherlands Setting Mod


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SDSilverM3 is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-19-2007, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
Shoot Me Already!
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Socal
Posts: 14,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Benzoboi
star diagnostics FTW... hee

4 door sedan with a couple "go fast" mods and some wheels...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Another great sig brought to you by Shake!
Benzoboi is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-19-2007, 07:25 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Broken in!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to SagaSupra
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benzoboi
star diagnostics FTW... hee
yeah, that was definately my #1 choice, but after thinking it over, and me always changing my mind, I didnt wanna harrass my friend EVERY other week to make ride height adjustments.

So in the end, the ELM and its ability to make quick adjustments at a turn of a dial won


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

99 Acura Integra GSR
SagaSupra is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-19-2007, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
p0st wh0r3
 
jangy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jangy Send a message via Yahoo to jangy
I aree with you Mike. Star is a good way to do it as well, but the module adds a completely different level of flexibility.

SD Crew #1

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jangy is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-20-2007, 12:47 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm in the market for the RT ELM, any suggestions on where I should get it? Do I go straight to RT or get it from a reseller?

Also, with the ELM, is the "sport I" and "sport II" button worthless or can it be used in conjunction with the ELM. If the car is slammed, is there any way to modify the dampening for a smoother ride?

Sorry for the lame questions, but I have yet to see one installed on a ride.

Finally, is this something I can install or do I truly need an installer?
DeDub is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome